About HLG

Development boutique with experience, expertise and a passion for complex projects

HLG Gesellschaft zur Entwicklung von Handelscentren mbH is a commercial real estate developer specialising in properties for the retail sector. We have been doing what we do for some 20 years, with commitment to our work and a passion for results. Every project presents a unique challenge and opportunity for us – and this is the way we manage them. Standardisation and economies of scale? No, that’s not our way. Just as in a fine high street boutique, customers come to us for quality, for individuality, and for the personal attention of our senior managers. Through our many years of experience and our total commitment built upon a love for what we do, we can turn even the most complex projects into success stories.

Our strengths

High degree
of specialisation

Our specialisation in retail real estate provides us with deep and detailed knowledge of this market segment. We keep a close and constant eye on new trends so that we are able to react flexibly and dynamically as market conditions change. This strength has proved time and again to be a key reason for our successful realisation of various projects over recent years.

Dependable relationships with decision-makers

We have strong networks and personal relationships which have been developed over decades, not only within the real estate industry and the retail sector but also in politics and government. The foundation for these long-term relationships is transparency and trust, two of our most important guiding principles. This dependable and enduring network among major players and decision-makers offers our project partners a high level of planning reliability.

Long and proven track record with complex projects

Development projects can often become highly complex, not least because of the extensive building approval, city planning and other legal requirements in Germany. Given these obstacles, success requires experience in dealing with the various authorities, creative solutions, and all too often a deep breath. Not only do we bring these requirements; we thrive on challenges, because challenging projects are where we show our true strengths.

Personal involvement of senior management

Our company’s managing partners are personally involved in every project. They conduct on site examinations of the property, speak directly with financing sources, government officials and tenants, and regularly review project progress through on site visits. This means that each and every project which we take on benefits from close, comprehensive and ongoing senior involvement from day one.

Our range of services

From on-site property visits and due diligence to property acquisition, financing, project development and revitalisation, all the way through the complete, beginning-to-end project management and property sale, we cover the entire value chain.

Location survey

 

When deciding upon a property, the location and its future prospects are absolutely crucial. The quality and investment potential of the property depend on many different factors. Therefore, before we select projects and carry them out, we investigate every detail. We closely examine the applicable property laws and regulations, recent court decisions, needs and requirements specific to the target property, and trends such as consumer behaviour, which is changing ever more rapidly as a result of digitalisation. In our location surveys and due diligence, we work closely with experts from such leading industry names as real estate consultancy bulwiengesa, Germany’s largest market research provider GfK, and retail consultancy Dr. Lademann & Partner.

Purchase / Sale

 

In acquiring properties, our focus is on retail uses such as specialty stores, retail warehouses, hybrid shopping centres, high-street retail, supermarkets and discounters which offer investor potential through restructuring, re-leasing or modernisation. We undertake the development of these projects not only as service provider but also as project investor, deploying our capital through joint ventures with selected partners.

Arrangement of financing

 

In arranging financing for our development projects, we work closely with major partner institutions such as Hamburg Commercial Bank and Landesbank Baden-Württemberg (LBBW) as well as with smaller local financial institutions. With our many years of experience, we know how to work with lenders and how to bring loan negotiations to a successful conclusion. And through our excellent relationships and the trust we have built over the years among various financing sources, we are able to seek out the best possible conditions.

Project development

 

Because of Germany’s highly restrictive building laws for new development projects and the lack of undeveloped land, particularly in inner cities, revitalisation projects have become increasingly important over recent years, and these are now an area of particular focus for us. Many of the country’s existing retail properties have become antiquated over the years and no longer meet the needs and requirements of today’s tenants and shoppers. Through revitalisation, we bring these properties into the new age, developing them into attractive gathering places not only for shopping but also for leisure activities and social interaction.

For us, that does not mean that we simply impose a cookie-cutter concept on a location. Instead, we carefully tailor our concept, taking into account the opportunity for synergies with the surroundings, and closely coordinating with all of the involved parties and local officials. For instance, as real estate becomes ever tighter in Germany, we are finding opportunities to create value through mixed uses, optimally combining retail with other property usages such as office and residential. For us, it is a matter of course with every project we undertake that the communication with property owners, with existing tenants, with authorities and city officials, and with local residents must be transparent and built upon trust. This trust and openness is equally important to us in our coordination with project partners, such as architectural, engineering and construction firms, so that our projects can be realised as efficiently and effectively as possible.

Construction approval and city planning

 

We develop strategies for the procurement of construction approval under Germany’s stringent building laws and city planning rules, coordinating the preparation of expert reports, development plans and building application documents. In addition, we undertake or assist in negotiations with authorities and coordinate the required approvals from city committees and officials as well as from other relevant public entities. We also manage, on behalf of investors, the awarding of contracts to construction companies.

Marketing / Leasing

 

As an important part of our project development work, we also proactively manage the property’s marketing. Having specialised in retail for more than 20 years, we have superb contacts and a comprehensive network among Germany’s most desirable tenants. We know what these tenants expect and require in today’s market in order to implement the newest retail concepts. Through cooperative dialogue not only with investors but also with existing and newly signed tenants, whose individual wishes we incorporate as early as possible, we develop forward-looking concepts with a balanced mix of tenants and tenant types. We keep a close and constant eye on new trends and changes in shopping behaviour.

“Our relationship with HLG is built on a long-term partnership and trust. The experience of our joint revitalisation projects, such as the Kaufpark Eiche shopping complex in the Berlin-Brandenburg region, is that HLG’s superb network, in the political arena as well as among tenants, has paid off again and again. We look forward to further intensifying our cooperation in the future.”

Christine Hager
Managing Director / Head of Shopping Center Asset Management, redos Gruppe

Our track record

Kaufpark Eiche

near Berlin

Altstadt-Centrum

Herford

Multi-retailer complex

Detmold

Mixed-use building

Bremen

C&A

Darmstadt

Mixed-use property

Oldenburg

Our selection criteria for projects and property acquisitions

We are looking for:

  • high-street properties in in main city-centre shopping districts or in areas with a population concentration of at least 50,000
  • retail warehouses
  • hybrid shopping centres
  • supermarkets
  • hypermarkets
  • local convenience shopping centres/li>
  • Nahversorgungszentren
  • specialty stores

We may, in individual situations, consider project opportunities outside this scope.

HLG At a glance

0

acquired properties

4

projects completed to date

110222

sq.m.

of developed space

1

projects currently under development

90

million euros

of total development investment

News

“Through our many years of specialisation and the powerful network of relationships we have built up over this time, we are able to offer our clients and partners a high degree of planning reliability – across all phases of project development.”

CONTACT AND APPROACH

Martin-Luther-King-Weg 10
48155 Münster

+49 251 20144 0

HLG Memberships

Dirk Brockmann

As Managing Partner of HLG, Dirk Brockmann is responsible for leasing, project management and contract management activities. He brings a distinguished track record of more than 25 years in retail property development.

From 2001 until 2008, Mr. Brockmann served as Managing Director of HLG Projektmanagement GmbH. His other past professional experience includes work at ECE Projektmanagement and at DIVA-Immobilen Management.

Christian Diesen

As Managing Partner of HLG, Christian Diesen is currently responsible for the company’s property acquisition, project development, construction approval procurement and public relations activities. He brings more than 20 years of proven experience in the development and construction of retail properties.

Mr. Diesen previously worked at HLG Projektmanagement GmbH from 2001 to 2008 and at Heinz Lohmann GmbH from 1997 to 2001, as well as at AXA Versicherung and at real, part of the Metro Group and one of Germany’s largest supermarket chains.

Über HLG

Entwickler-Boutique mit Erfahrung und Leidenschaft für komplexe Projekte

Die HLG Gesellschaft zur Entwicklung von Handelscentren mbH ist auf die Entwicklung gewerblicher Immobilien mit dem Schwerpunkt Einzelhandel spezialisiert. Was wir tun, tun wir seit rund 20 Jahren mit größter Leidenschaft und hohem Einsatz. Für uns ist jedes Projekt einzigartig – und wird genau so auch betreut. Masse und Standards? Gibt es bei uns nicht. Genau wie in einer Boutique zählen bei uns Qualität, Individualität und persönliche Betreuung durch die Geschäftsführung. Durch unsere langjährige Erfahrung und unseren leidenschaftlichen Einsatz machen wir auch aus komplexen Projekten Erfolgsgeschichten.

Unsere Stärken

Hoher
Spezialisierungsgrad

Durch unsere Spezialisierung auf Einzelhandelsimmobilien verfügen wir in diesem Segment über eine exzellente Marktkenntnis. Wir haben neue Trends immer im Blick und reagieren auf veränderte Bedingungen flexibel und dynamisch. Auch dadurch haben wir in den vergangenen Jahren zahlreiche Projekte erfolgreich realisiert.

Belastbares Entscheidernetzwerk

Wir verfügen über starke Netzwerke innerhalb der Immobilien- und Einzelhandelsbranche, aber auch über jahrzehntelang gewachsene, sehr gute Beziehungen in der Politik. Die Grundlage dafür sind Transparenz und Vertrauen – zwei unserer wichtigsten Prinzipien. Durch unser belastbares Entscheidernetzwerk bieten wir unseren Projektpartnern eine hohe Planungssicherheit.

Langjährige Erfahrung mit komplexen Projekten

Viele Projektentwicklungen sind beispielsweise aufgrund ihrer baurechtlichen Anforderungen sehr komplex. Entsprechend gefordert sind kreative Lösungsansätze, Erfahrung im Umgang mit den Behörden und nicht selten ein langer Atem. Wir bringen diese Voraussetzungen mit – mehr noch: Herausfordernde Projekte sind eine unserer Stärke.

Persönliches Commitment der Geschäftsführung

Bei jedem Projekt sind unsere Geschäftsführer involviert. Sie prüfen den Standort, sprechen mit Finanzierern, Politikern und Mietern und begutachten regelmäßig persönlich den Projektfortschritt vor Ort – kurz: Sie sind immer nah dran und begleiten jedes Projekt von Anfang an eng und umfassend.

UNSER LEISTUNGSSPEKTRUM

Von der Standortprüfung über den Ankauf, die Finanzierungsbeschaffung, Projektentwicklung und Revitalisierung bis hin zum ganzheitlichen Projektmanagement und zum Verkauf decken wir den gesamten Prozess ab.

Standortprüfung

 

Bei der Entscheidung für einen Standort ist seine Zukunftsfähigkeit ausschlaggebend. Die Qualität und das Potenzial hängen von vielen verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Bevor wir Projekte auswählen und durchführen, prüfen wir daher jedes Detail. Wir nehmen die relevanten raumordnerischen Vorgaben, die aktuelle Rechtsprechung, spezielle Objektanforderungen und Trends wie das sich durch die voranschreitende Digitalisierung verändernde Konsumentenverhalten genau in den Blick. Dabei arbeiten wir eng mit Gutachtern beispielsweise von bulwiengesa, der GfK (Gesellschaft für Konsumforschung) oder Dr. Lademann & Partner zusammen.

Ankauf / Verkauf

 

Wir erwerben schwerpunktmäßig Einzelhandelsimmobilien wie beispielsweise Fachmärkte / Fachmarktzentren, hybride Shoppingcenter, Geschäftshäuser in Fußgängerzonen oder Discounter / Verbrauchermärkte mit Potenzial für Restrukturierung, Neuvermietung oder Modernisierung. Die einzelnen Projekte entwickeln wir sowohl als Dienstleister als auch zusammen mit ausgewählten Joint-Venture-Partnern aufs eigene Buch.

Finanzierungsbeschaffung

 

Bei der Finanzierungsbeschaffung arbeiten wir eng mit Partnern wie der Hamburg Commercial Bank und der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg (LBBW), aber auch mit örtlichen Banken und Sparkassen zusammen. Aufgrund unserer langjährigen Erfahrung wissen wir genau, worauf es beim Abschluss von Kreditverträgen ankommt. Durch unsere sehr guten Beziehungen und das Vertrauen, das wir bei verschiedenen Finanzierern genießen, können wir optimale Finanzierungsbedingungen erzielen.

Projektentwicklung

 

Bedingt durch das restriktive Baurecht für neue Projektentwicklungen und den Mangel an unbebauten Grundstücken vor allem in innerstädtischen Lagen gewinnen Revitalisierungen zunehmend an Bedeutung und sind mittlerweile auch einer unserer Schwerpunkte. Viele Einzelhandelsobjekte sind in die Jahre gekommen und entsprechen nicht mehr den Bedürfnissen und Anforderungen von Mietern und Kunden. Diese Immobilien richten wir zukunftssicher aus und entwickeln sie zu attraktiven Treffpunkten zum Einkaufen, zur Freizeitgestaltung und zur sozialen Interaktion weiter.

Dabei stülpen wir einem Standort aber keine Standard-Lösung über. Unter Berücksichtigung möglicher Synergien im Umfeld und in enger Abstimmung mit allen Beteiligten vor Ort entwickeln wir vielmehr stets maßgeschneiderte Konzepte. Vor dem Hintergrund der Flächenknappheit beschäftigen wir uns auch mit dem Thema Mixed-Use und prüfen die Kombination von Einzelhandel mit weiteren Nutzungsarten wie Wohnen oder Büro. Die transparente, vertrauensvolle Kommunikation mit Grundstückseigentümern, Bestandsmietern, Kommunen, Behörden und Anwohnern ist für uns bei jedem Projekt eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Genauso die möglichst effektive und effiziente Koordination aller Projektpartner wie beispielsweise Architekten, Ingenieure oder Baufirmen.

Bau- und Planungsrecht

 

Wir entwickeln Strategien zur Erlangung von Bau- und Planungsrecht und begleiten die Erstellung von Gutachten, Bebauungsplänen und Bauanträgen. Zudem übernehmen wir oder unterstützen bei Verhandlungen mit Behörden und begleiten die Abstimmung mit politischen Gremien, Ämtern und anderen öffentlichen Einrichtungen. Darüber hinaus steuern wir die Vergabe von Aufträgen an Bauunternehmen.

Vermarktung / Vermietung

 

Im Rahmen der Projektentwicklung kümmern wir uns auch um die Flächenvermarktung. Dadurch, dass wir seit mehr als 20 Jahren auf den Einzelhandel spezialisiert sind, verfügen wir über beste Kontakte und ein umfassendes Mieternetzwerk. Wir wissen, was die Mieter heute erwarten und brauchen, um zeitgemäße Konzepte umzusetzen. Im engen Dialog sowohl mit Eigentümern als auch mit den Händlern, deren individuelle Wünsche wir möglichst frühzeitig einbeziehen, entwickeln wir vorausschauende Konzepte mit ausgewogenem Branchen- und Mietermix. Neue Trends und das sich wandelnde Kundenverhalten haben wir dabei stets im Blick.

„Mit der HLG verbindet uns eine langjährige, vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit. Im Rahmen der gemeinsamen Revitalisierungsprojekte wie beispielsweise beim Kaufpark Eiche Berlin-Brandenburg hat sich immer wieder das hervorragende Netzwerk der HLG sowohl in der Politik als auch zu den Mietern ausgezahlt. Wir freuen uns darauf, unsere Zusammenarbeit künftig noch zu intensivieren.“

Christine Hager
Managing Director / Head of Shopping Center Asset Management, redos Gruppe

Unser Track Record

Kaufpark Eiche

Nahe Berlin

Altstadt-Centrum

Herford

Geschäftshaus

Detmold

Gemischt-genutzte Immobilie

Bremen


C&A

Darmstadt

Gemischt-genutzte Immobilie

Oldenburg

UNSER ANKAUFSPROFIL

Wir suchen:

  • Wohn- und Geschäftshäuser in guten innerstädtischen Handelslagen oder Stadtteillagen ab ca. 50.000 Einwohner
  • Fachmarktzentren
  • Hybride Shoppingcenter
  • Verbrauchermärkte
  • SB-Warenhäuser
  • Warenhäuser
  • Nahversorgungszentren
  • Fachmärkte

mit Potenzialen für Restrukturierung, Neuvermietung und Modernisierung.

Davon abweichende Projektansätze prüfen wir im Einzelfall.

HLG AUF EINEN BLICK

0

angekaufte Projekte

4

fertig gestellte Objekte

110222

m2

entwickelte Fläche

1

Projekte in der Entwicklung

90

Mio. Euro

Entwicklungsvolumen

News

„Durch unsere langjährige Spezialisierung und unser starkes, über die Jahre gewachsenes Netzwerk können wir unseren Kunden und Partnern hohe Planungssicherheit bieten – in allen Phasen der Projektentwicklung.“

KONTAKT UND ANFAHRT

Text

Martin-Luther-King-Weg 10
48155 Münster

+49 251 20144 0

HLG Mitgliedschaften

Dirk Brockmann

Dirk Brockmann ist als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter bei der HLG für die Vermietung sowie das Projekt- und Vertragsmanagement zuständig. Er verfügt über mehr als 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Einzelhandelsimmobilien.

Von 2001 bis 2008 war Dirk Brockmann als Geschäftsführer der HLG Projektmanagement tätig. Zu den weiteren Stationen zählen ECE Projektmanagement und DIVA-Immobilen Management.

Christian Diesen

Als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter verantwortet Christian Diesen bei der HLG aktuell die Bereiche Ankauf, Projektentwicklung, Baurechtschaffung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Er blickt auf mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und im Bau von Einzelhandelsimmobilien zurück.

Von 2001 bis 2008 war Christian Diesen bei der HLG Projektmanagement und von 1997 bis 2001 bei der Heinz Lohmann GmbH tätig. Weitere Stationen umfassen AXA Versicherung und real.